The Claysburg-Kimmel School District Board of Directors met in regular session on Wednesday, February 14, 2024, Mrs. Amy Gill called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm. The following members responded to roll call: Dr. Mona Eckley, Mr. Danny Potter, Mr. Roger Knisely, Mrs. Mandy Daugherty, Mr. Joseph Musselman, Mr. Jeremy Knott, and Mrs. Amy Gill. Also, present were, Krystal Edwards (Beard Legal Group), Brannan Raptosh, Chuck Kassick, Matt Hall, Michelle Guyer, Suzanne Wicker, Lesa Imler, Stacey Claycomb, Dr. Brian Helsel and Mrs. Dena Burket.

Dr. Brian Helsel gave a Superintendent Report to the Board discussing the Comp Plan, Hydroponic opportunity, School Calendar and Act 56, Policies (200 section) update. Mr. Raptosh discussed the policies briefly. Mr. Hall briefly discussed the transfer from the Elementary Principal position to another opportunity within the District. Mr. Helsel discussed ABM. Many Board members expressed their opinions regarding ABM. The general consensus is to hold off until some further discussion and investigation into ABM occurs. Mr. Raptosh discussed an opportunity for a grant opportunity from the State for repair and maintenance issues.

Stacey Claycomb spoke during public comment regarding people entering the workforce for certain jobs and do not know how to read a tape measure. She also addressed her son traveling to Washington DC for FBLA and is thankful for the support.

Motion by Dr. Eckley, seconded by Knott, to approve the minutes for January 10 and February 7, 2024. Motion passed unanimously except Kennedy abstained for January 10 and Daugherty abstained for February 7.

Motion by Knott, seconded by Dr. Eckley to approve bills for January and authorization to pay regular bills for February. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Knott, seconded by Musselman, to approve the Treasurer's Report for January 24. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Knott, seconded by Kennedy, to approve the Professional Services Agreement between Lonesome Prairie Publications, LLC and CKSD for development and submission of a 2024-2025 USDA Distant Learning Grant. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Knott, seconded by Musselman, to approve the following pending receipt of all paperwork/clearances:

- Angie Finnegan, PTO Volunteer
- Ronda Dively, Theater Volunteer
- Aaron Hileman, Theater Volunteer
- Ed Weiss, Theater Volunteer
- Erin Kelly, Theater Volunteer
- Deanna Oaks, Theater Volunteer
- Shawn Miller, Theater Volunteer
- Troy Barnhart, Theater Volunteer
- Mark Black, Theater Volunteer
- Heidi Kennedy, Theater Volunteer
- Ronette Lingenfelt, Softball Volunteer

- Samantha Fickes, Softball Volunteer
- Heather Paris, Softball Volunteer
- Russ Knisely, Softball Volunteer

Motion passed unanimously. Kennedy abstained from voting for herself.

Motion by Knott, seconded by Musselman, to approve the 2024-2025 School Calendar. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Knott, seconded by Kennedy, to strike the 300 policies from the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Musselman, seconded by Kennedy, to accept the retirements of the following:

- Steven Walter effective the end of the 2023-2024 school year.
- Jerome Dodson effective June 30, 2024.
- Gail Smith effective the end of the 2023-2024 school year.
- Debra Musselman effective the end of the 2023-2024 school year.

Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Musselman, seconded by Kennedy, to authorize Administration to accept any additional notice(s) of retirement received prior to the end of February. Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Gergely emailed his legislative report due to not being able to be present. His report briefly addressed the Governor's Education Budget Proposal and the 2024 State of Education Report.

Mr. Knisely gave a brief Career and Technology Center report addressing issues finding career teachers.

During Old Business, Mr. Potter asked for an update regarding early to college classes being weighed. Mr. Kassick said meetings are scheduled and this is still being looked into and considered.

Motion by Daugherty, seconded by Musselman, to adjourn the meeting at 8:35 pm.

Jene D Burket

Board Secretary